PREVIOUS SECTION Go back to sections Go back to the chapter Go back to the N.J. Statutes homepage NEXT SECTION


New Jersey Statutes, Title: 39, MOTOR VEHICLES AND TRAFFIC REGULATION

    Chapter 4: Application of chapter

      Section: 39:4-10.6: Violations, penalties, disposition of fines collected.

           2. a. A person who violates the provisions of section 1 of this act by failing to wear an approved helmet shall be warned of the violation by the enforcing official. The parent or legal guardian of the violator may be fined a maximum of $25 for a first offense and a maximum of $100 for a subsequent offense. The penalties provided under the provisions of this subsection for failing to wear an approved helmet may be waived if the parent or legal guardian of the violator presents suitable proof that an approved helmet or appropriate personal protection equipment has been purchased since the violation occurred.

b. All moneys collected as fines under subsection a. of this section shall be deposited in the "Bicycle and Skating Safety Fund" pursuant to section 2 of P.L.1991, c.465 (C.39:4-10.2).

L.1997,c.411,s.2.



This section added to the Rutgers Database: 2012-09-26 13:37:51.






Older versions of 39:4-10.6 (if available):



Court decisions that cite this statute: CLICK HERE.

©2005 Rutgers University School of Law - Newark, 123 Washington Street, Newark, NJ 07102
Rutgers School of Law Rutgers University-Newark Support the Law
Library