|PREVIOUS SECTION||Go back to sections||Go back to the chapter||Go back to the N.J. Statutes homepage||NEXT SECTION|
New Jersey Statutes, Title: 39, MOTOR VEHICLES AND TRAFFIC REGULATION
Chapter 4: Application of chapter
Section: 39:4-205: Person with a disability identification card.
2. The Chief Administrator of the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission shall issue, at the expense of the State of New Jersey, person with a disability identification cards upon the application of qualifying persons with disabilities and after an investigation of the qualifying status of each applicant. The card shall, amongst other things, identify the persons with disabilities and the registration number of the vehicle for which any wheelchair symbol license plates have been issued under the provisions of section 3 of P.L.1949, c.280 (C.39:4-206) and shall state that he is a person with a disability validly qualified to receive a card, that the card is for the exclusive use of the person to whom it has been duly issued, is nontransferable and will be forfeited if presented by any other person, and that any abuse of any privilege, benefit, precedence, or consideration granted to any person to whom the card may be issued will be sufficient cause for revocation of the card, corresponding windshield placard and wheelchair symbol license plates, and the same may be forfeited or revoked accordingly, and in the absence of forfeiture or revocation the card shall be valid until the last day of the 36th calendar month following the calendar month in which that card was issued.
Every application for the issuance or renewal of a person with a disability identification card shall contain a statement signed by a physician, podiatrist, chiropractic physician, physician assistant, or nurse practitioner licensed to practice in this State or a bordering state or a physician stationed at a military or naval installation located in this State who is licensed to practice in any state, certifying that the applicant's stated disability qualifies the applicant to meet the definition of "person with a disability" pursuant to section 1 of P.L.1949, c.280 (C.39:4-204). A person who qualifies as a veteran with a permanent disability pursuant to subsection b. of section 1 of P.L.1949, c.280 (C.39:4-204) may submit, in lieu of a statement signed by a certified medical professional, an application that contains a statement signed by a representative of the United States Department of Veterans Affairs certifying that the person is permanently 100 percent disabled.
In order to be approved, the application for a person with a disability identification card shall be submitted to the commission not more than 60 days following the date upon which a physician, podiatrist, chiropractic physician, physician assistant, nurse practitioner, or representative of the United States Department of Veterans Affairs certifies that the applicant meets the definition of "person with a disability" pursuant to section 1 of P.L.1949, c.280 (C.39:4-204). The application shall also include any additional information pertinent to the certification which the chief administrator, in the chief administrator's discretion, may require, including, but not limited to, the National Provider Identifier or state-issued licensing number of the physician, podiatrist, chiropractic physician, physician assistant, or nurse practitioner who certifies the applicant's eligibility for a person with a disability identification card.
L.1949, c.280, s.2; amended 1981, c.36, s.2; 2013, c.3, s.2; 2017, c.166, s.2.
This section added to the Rutgers Database: 2017-08-18 12:15:49.
Older versions of 39:4-205 (if available):
Court decisions that cite this statute: CLICK HERE.