|PREVIOUS SECTION||Go back to sections||Go back to the chapter||Go back to the N.J. Statutes homepage||NEXT SECTION|
New Jersey Statutes, Title: 5, AMUSEMENTS, PUBLIC EXHIBITIONS AND MEETINGS
Chapter 5: New Jersey Racing Commission, powers, duties; definitons.
Section: 5:5-71: Unlawful acts; penalty
Any person who shall influence or have any understanding or connivance with any owner, driver, jockey, groom or other person associated with or interested in any stable, horse or race in which any horse participated or is to participate, or who shall prearrange or predetermine the results of any such race, any person who attempts to or does interfere with, tamper with, injure or destroy by the use of any narcotic, drug, stimulant, appliance, or by any other means any horse that is to run in a race in the State of New Jersey, whether such horse be the property of such person or another, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor. Any person who shall have the control over any horse that is to run in a race in the State of New Jersey and who allows or permits it to run with the knowledge of any interference with, any tampering with, any injury to by any narcotic, drug, stimulant, appliance or by any other means shall be guilty of a misdemeanor. Any person who causes, instigates, counsels, or in any way aids or abets in any interference with, tampering with, injury to or destruction of any horse that is to run in a race in New Jersey by the use of any narcotic, drug, stimulant, appliance or by any other means shall be guilty of a misdemeanor. The owners of any such horse, their agents or employees shall permit any member of the State Racing Commission or any person appointed by such commission for that purpose to make such test as the commission deems proper in order to determine whether any such horse has been so interfered with, tampered with, injured or destroyed by the use of any narcotic, drug, stimulant, appliance or by any other means. Any person who shall violate any provision of this section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction thereof shall be imprisoned in the State Prison for not less than one year and not more than ten years, or shall be fined not less than one thousand dollars ($1,000.00), nor more than five thousand dollars ($5,000.00), or be punished by both such imprisonment and fine in the discretion of the court.
L.1940, c. 17, p. 88, s. 51. Amended by L.1941, c. 137, p. 465, s. 12.
This section added to the Rutgers Database: 2013-06-10 16:36:30.
Older versions of 5:5-71 (if available):
Court decisions that cite this statute: CLICK HERE.