PREVIOUS SECTION Go back to sections Go back to the chapter Go back to the N.J. Statutes homepage NEXT SECTION


New Jersey Statutes, Title: 52, STATE GOVERNMENT, DEPARTMENTS AND OFFICERS

    Chapter 17B: Establishment of department; "the department" defined

      Section: 52:17B-77.6: Liability to State law enforcement agency for training; terms defined.

          
4. a. If a person who was appointed to a State law enforcement agency resigns and is subsequently appointed to a county or municipal law enforcement agency, a police department of an educational institution pursuant to P.L.1970, c.211 (C.18A:6-4.2 et seq.), another State law enforcement agency or the New Jersey Transit Police Department pursuant to section 2 of P.L.1989, c.291 (C.27:25-15.1) within 120 days of resignation, and if that person held a probationary appointment at the time of resignation or held a permanent appointment for 30 days or less prior to resignation, the appointing county or municipal law enforcement agency, educational institution, State law enforcement agency or the New Jersey Transit Corporation shall be liable to the State law enforcement agency for the total certified costs incurred by the corporation in the examination, hiring, and training of the person.

b. If a person who was appointed to a State law enforcement agency resigns and is subsequently appointed to a county or municipal law enforcement agency, a police department of an educational institution pursuant to P.L.1970, c.211 (C.18A:6-4.2 et seq.), another State law enforcement agency or the New Jersey Transit Police Department pursuant to section 2 of P.L.1989, c.291 (C.27:25-15.1) within 120 days of resignation, and if that person held a permanent appointment for more than 30 days but less than two years at the time of resignation, the appointing county or municipal law enforcement agency, educational institution or State law enforcement agency, or the New Jersey Transit Corporation, shall be liable to the State law enforcement agency for one-half of the total certified costs incurred by the agency in the examination, hiring, and training of the person.

c. The appointing county or municipal law enforcement agency, educational institution, State law enforcement agency or the New Jersey Transit Corporation shall notify the former employer immediately upon the appointment of an employee formerly employed by the State law enforcement agency and shall reimburse the agency within 120 days of the receipt of the certified costs.

d. As used in this section:

"County or municipal law enforcement agency" means and includes, but is not limited to, a county or municipal police department or force, a county corrections department and a county sheriff's office.

"Examination costs" means and includes, but is not limited to, the costs of all qualifying examinations and public advertisements for these examinations.

"State law enforcement agency" means and includes, but is not limited to, the police department of a State agency and the State Department of Corrections, but does not include the State Police

"Training costs" means the police training course fees and the base salary received while attending the police training course as required by section 2 of P.L.1989, c.291 (C.27:25-15.1).

L.2000,c.106,s.4.



This section added to the Rutgers Database: 2012-09-26 13:37:55.






Older versions of 52:17B-77.6 (if available):



Court decisions that cite this statute: CLICK HERE.

©2005 Rutgers University School of Law - Newark, 123 Washington Street, Newark, NJ 07102
Rutgers School of Law Rutgers University-Newark Support the Law
Library