Skip to main content
THIS SITE
PREVIOUS SECTION Go back to sections Go back to the chapter Go back to the N.J. Statutes homepage NEXT SECTION


New Jersey Statutes, Title: 23, FISH AND GAME, WILD BIRDS AND ANIMALS

    Chapter 3: License for hunting, fishing or trapping; penalty; exemptions.

      Section: 23:3-52: Fee.

          
23:3-52. a. Except as provided by subsection b. of this section, the fees for a Menhaden Purse Seine Fishing Vessel License, issued pursuant to R.S.23:3-51, shall be as follows:

(1) For vessels owned by a resident of New Jersey:

(a) $125 for each vessel not less than 30 nor more than 100 tons in gross tonnage;

(b) $250 for each vessel not less than 100 nor more than 150 tons in gross tonnage;

(c) $400 for each vessel not less than 150 nor more than 175 tons in gross tonnage;

(d) $550 for each vessel not less than 175 nor more than 200 tons in gross tonnage;

(e) $900 for each vessel more than 200 tons in gross tonnage; and

(f) $20 for each vessel up to 30 tons in gross tonnage, which is used to take menhaden for bait purposes only;

(2) For vessels owned by non-residents of New Jersey:

(a) $450 for each vessel not less than 30 nor more than 100 tons in gross tonnage;

(b) $700 for each vessel not less than 100 nor more than 150 tons in gross tonnage;

(c) $1,000 for each vessel not less than 150 nor more than 175 tons in gross tonnage;

(d) $1,150 for each vessel not less than 175 nor more than 200 tons in gross tonnage; and

(e) $1,500 for each vessel more than 200 tons in gross tonnage.

b. Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection a. of this section to the contrary, if a resident of New Jersey leases a vessel from out of State, the vessel licensing fee shall be the same as the fee that is applicable to a vessel owned or leased by a nonresident, as provided by paragraph (2) of subsection a. of this section.

c. The fee for a Menhaden Purse Seine Fishing Vessel Operator's License, issued pursuant to R.S.23:3-51, shall be $50 for a resident of New Jersey and $75 for a non-resident of New Jersey.

d. Gross tonnage determinations under this section shall be made using Custom House measurements.

e. Any license fees collected pursuant to this section shall be deposited in the "Marine Fisheries Management Account," established pursuant to section 14 of P.L.2013, c.74 (C.23:3-51.12).

amended 1940, c.166, s.2; 1975, c.116, s.9; 2013, c.74, s.3.

This section added to the Rutgers Database: 2013-07-08 15:52:06.






Older versions of 23:3-52 (if available):



Court decisions that cite this statute: CLICK HERE.


<