Skip to main content
PREVIOUS SECTION Go back to sections Go back to the chapter Go back to the N.J. Statutes homepage NEXT SECTION


    Chapter 2A:

      Section: 39:2A-12: Board; membership; appointment; terms, vacancies.

12. a. Except as otherwise provided by law, the commission shall be governed by a board which shall consist of the following eight members:

(1) The Commissioner of Transportation, who shall serve as an ex officio voting member;

(2) The State Attorney General, who shall serve as an ex officio voting member;

(3) The Chair of the board who shall be a nonvoting member and who shall also be the person appointed and serving as the chief administrator. The chief administrator shall be appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate. The chief administrator shall serve at the pleasure of the Governor during the Governor's term of office, and shall receive such salary as shall be fixed by the Governor which is not greater than the salary of a cabinet-level official of the State. Prior to nomination, the Governor shall cause the Attorney General to conduct an inquiry into the nominee's background, financial stability, integrity and responsibility and reputation for good character, honesty and integrity. The person appointed and serving as chief administrator shall devote full time to the performance of the duties of that position. The chief administrator shall be in the State unclassified service;

(4) The State Treasurer, who shall serve as an ex officio voting member; and

(5) Four public members who shall be appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate, not more than two of whom shall be of the same political party. The public members shall be voting members and serve for a term of four years. These members shall be New Jersey residents who shall provide appropriate geographic representation from throughout the State and who shall have experience and familiarity with public safety, customer service, security, or business operations. At least one member shall reside in a northern county (Bergen, Essex, Hudson, Morris, Passaic, Union, Sussex and Warren), at least one member shall reside in a central county (Hunterdon, Mercer, Middlesex, Monmouth and Somerset), and at least one member shall reside in a southern county (Atlantic, Burlington, Camden, Cape May, Cumberland, Gloucester, Ocean and Salem).

b. Appointments of public members to the board shall be for terms of four years, except that in filling each vacancy, among the several public members, that first arises by expiration of the respective terms of those members following the effective date of P.L.2007, c.335 (C.39:2A-36.1 et al.), appointments shall be for terms as follows: one member for four years, one member for three years, one member for two years, and one member for one year. A public member may be appointed for any number of successive terms. The board may elect a secretary and a treasurer, who need not be members, and the same person may be elected to serve both as secretary and treasurer.

c. Each ex officio member of the board may designate two employees of the member's department or agency, who may represent the member at meetings of the board. A designee may lawfully vote and otherwise act on behalf of the member. The designation shall be in writing delivered to the board and shall continue in effect until revoked or amended by writing delivered to the board.

d. Each public member shall continue in office after the expiration of the member's term until a successor is appointed and qualified. The successor shall be appointed in like manner for the unexpired term only.

e. A vacancy in the membership of the board occurring other than by expiration of term shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointment, but for the unexpired term only.

L.2003, c.13, s.12; amended 2007, c.335, s.2; 2009 c.298, s.2.

This section added to the Rutgers Database: 2012-09-26 13:37:51.

Older versions of 39:2A-12 (if available):

Court decisions that cite this statute: CLICK HERE.