|PREVIOUS SECTION||Go back to sections||Go back to the chapter||Go back to the N.J. Statutes homepage||NEXT SECTION|
New Jersey Statutes, Title: 26, HEALTH AND VITAL STATISTICS
Chapter 2H: Declaration of public policy
Section: 26:2H-7c: Exemptions from certificate of need requirement.
16. a. Notwithstanding the provisions of section 7 of P.L.1971, c.136 (C.26:2H-7) to the contrary, 20 months after the effective date of P.L.1998, c.43 the following shall be exempt from the certificate of need requirement:
Extracorporeal shock wave lithotripter;
Positron emission tomography;
Residential drug and alcohol services;
Ambulatory surgical facilities;
Basic obstetric and pediatric services and birth centers, including additions of basic obstetric and pediatric beds in hospitals; and
Linear accelerator, including Cobalt 60 unit.
b. Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection a. of this section to the contrary, if the Commissioner of Health determines that Department of Health licensing standards for a health care service or facility listed in subsection a. of this section have been adopted by regulation of the department pursuant to the "Administrative Procedure Act," P.L.1968, c.410 (C.52:14B-1 et seq.), the commissioner may exempt the health care service or facility from the provisions of section 7 of P.L.1971, c.136 (C.26:2H-7) prior to the 20-month period established in subsection a. of this section.
The commissioner shall publish notice of any exemptions established pursuant to this subsection in the New Jersey Register and provide for 45 days' public notice prior to the effective date of the exemption.
c. In the case of any health care service or facility that is not exempted from the provisions of section 7 of P.L.1971, c.136 (C.26:2H-7) pursuant to this section or section 19 of P.L.1992, c.160 (C.26:2H-7a) and is not subject to expedited review, the commissioner shall publish a call schedule for the initiation of the services or facilities within 90 days of the date of enactment of this act. In the event that the commissioner determines that there is insufficient need to support the initiation of the service or facility, the commissioner is authorized to cancel the call. The commissioner shall provide public notice of the cancellation at least 45 days prior to the scheduled call date.
L.1998, c.43, s.16; amended 2012, c.17, s.170.
This section added to the Rutgers Database: 2012-09-26 13:37:49.
Older versions of 26:2H-7c (if available):
Court decisions that cite this statute: