|PREVIOUS SECTION||Go back to sections||Go back to the chapter||Go back to the N.J. Statutes homepage||NEXT SECTION|
New Jersey Statutes, Title: 26, HEALTH AND VITAL STATISTICS
Section: 26:8-40: Change of surname of child born out of wedlock; amendment of original birth record
a. The State registrar shall amend the original birth record of a child born out of wedlock to change its surname on the request of both natural parents or the child who is 18 years of age or older and on proof under oath of the marriage of its natural parents. If one of the parents of the child is deceased, the State registrar shall amend the record on proof under oath by the surviving parent or guardian or the child who is 18 years of age or older: (1) of the death of the other parent and (2) that the male parent was presumed to be the child's natural father pursuant to the "New Jersey Parentage Act," P.L.1983, c.17 (C.9:17-38 et seq.).
b. When parentage is adjudicated by any court, the State registrar shall amend the birth record to conform it to the court decree or make any other necessary changes pursuant to a request by the parent to whom custody has been awarded, the child's guardian or the child who is 18 years of age or older. A request for amendment shall be made under oath by the parent, guardian or child and shall be accompanied by a copy of the court decree.
Amended by L.1965, c. 78, s. 55; L.1983, c. 10, s. 2.
This section added to the Rutgers Database: 2012-09-26 13:37:49.
Older versions of 26:8-40 (if available):
Court decisions that cite this statute: