|PREVIOUS SECTION||Go back to sections||Go back to the chapter||Go back to the N.J. Statutes homepage||NEXT SECTION|
New Jersey Statutes, Title: 39, MOTOR VEHICLES AND TRAFFIC REGULATION
Section: 39:6-55: Prohibited acts; violations; enforcement; remedies; procedure; revocation of license
(a) Any person who shall forge, or, without authority, sign any evidence of proof of financial responsibility, or who files or offers for filing any such evidence of proof, knowing or having reason to believe that it is forged or signed without authority, shall be fined not more than $1,000.00 or imprisoned for not more than one year, or both.
(b) Any person willfully failing to return license or registration as required in section 22 of this act shall be fined not more than $500.00 or imprisoned not to exceed 30 days, or both.
(c) Any person who shall violate any provision of this act for which no penalty is otherwise provided shall be fined not more than $500.00 or imprisoned not more than 90 days, or both.
The provisions of this act shall be enforced and all penalties for the violation thereof shall be recovered in accordance with the provisions of "the penalty enforcement law" (N.J.S. 2A:58-1 et seq.), and in addition to the provisions and remedies therein contained, the following provisions and remedies shall be applicable in any proceeding brought for a violation of any of the provisions of this act:
a. The several municipal courts shall have jurisdiction of any such proceeding, in addition to the courts prescribed in "the penalty enforcement law" ;
b. The complaint in any such proceeding may be made on information and belief by the director, or the police or peace officer of any municipality, any county or the State;
c. A warrant may issue in lieu of summons;
d. Any police or peace officer shall be empowered to serve and execute process in any such proceeding;
e. The hearing in any such proceeding shall be without a jury;
f. Any such proceeding may be brought in the name of the Director of the Division of Motor Vehicles in the Department of Law and Public Safety or in the name of the State of New Jersey;
g. Any sums received in payment of any fines imposed in any such proceeding shall be paid to the Director of the Division of Motor Vehicles and shall be paid by him into the State treasury;
h. The director or judge before whom any hearing under this act is had may revoke the license of any person to drive a motor vehicle or the registration certificate of any motor vehicle owned by any person, when such person shall have been guilty of such willful violation of any of the provisions of this act as shall in the discretion of the director or judge justify such revocation.
L.1952, c. 173, p. 569, s. 33. Amended by L.1954, c. 77, p. 448, s. 1; L.1983, c. 403, s. 25, eff. Dec. 23, 1983.
This section added to the Rutgers Database: 2012-09-26 13:37:51.
Older versions of 39:6-55 (if available):
Court decisions that cite this statute: