|PREVIOUS SECTION||Go back to sections||Go back to the chapter||Go back to the N.J. Statutes homepage||NEXT SECTION|
New Jersey Statutes, Title: 43, PENSIONS AND RETIREMENT AND UNEMPLOYMENT COMPENSATION
Section: 43:21-55: Penalties.
31. Penalties. (a) Whoever makes a false statement or representation knowing it to be false or knowingly fails to disclose a material fact, and each such false statement or representation or failure to disclose a material fact shall constitute a separate offense, to obtain or increase any disability benefit under the State plan or an approved private plan, or for a disability during unemployment, including any benefit during a period of family temporary disability leave, either for himself or for any other person, shall be liable for a fine of $250 to be paid to the division. Upon refusal to pay such fine, the same shall be recovered in a civil action by the division in the name of the State of New Jersey. If in any case liability for the payment of a fine as aforesaid shall be determined, any person who shall have received any benefits hereunder by reason of the making of such false statements or representations or failure to disclose a material fact, shall not be entitled to any benefits under this act for any disability occurring prior to the time he shall have discharged his liability hereunder to pay such fine.
(b) Any employer or any officer or agent of any employer or any other person who makes a false statement or representation knowing it to be false or knowingly fails to disclose a material fact, to prevent or reduce the benefits to any person entitled thereto, or to avoid becoming or remaining subject hereto or to avoid or reduce any contribution or other payment required from an employer under this act, or who willfully fails or refuses to make any such contributions or other payment or to furnish any reports required hereunder or to produce or permit the inspection or copying of records as required hereunder, or who fails to provide any notification or disclosure to the division or the employee required by subsection (a) of section 25 of P.L.1948, c.110 (C.43:21-49) or subsection f. or g. of section 10 of P.L.2008, c.17 (C.43:21-39.1) at the time and in the manner required by those sections, including disclosure of the information the division requires for the processing of a claim, shall be liable for a fine of $250 to be paid to the division. Upon refusal to pay such fine, the same shall be recovered in a civil action by the division in the name of the State of New Jersey.
(c) Any person who shall willfully violate any provision hereof or any rule or regulation made hereunder, for which a fine is neither prescribed herein nor provided by any other applicable statute, shall be liable to a fine of $500 to be paid to the division. Upon the refusal to pay such fine, the same shall be recovered in a civil action by the division in the name of the State of New Jersey.
(d) Any person, employing unit, employer or entity violating any of the provisions of the above subsections with intent to defraud the division shall in addition to the penalties hereinbefore described, be liable for each offense upon conviction before the Superior Court or any municipal court for a fine not to exceed $1,000 or by imprisonment for a term not to exceed ninety days, or both, at the discretion of the court. The fine upon conviction shall be payable to the State disability benefits fund of the division. Any penalties imposed by this subsection shall be in addition to those otherwise prescribed in this chapter (R.S.43:21-1 et seq.).
(e) Any sum collected as a fine or penalty pursuant to this section shall be deposited in the administration account of the State disability benefits fund and applied toward enforcement and other administrative costs of the division.
L.1948, c.110, s.31; amended 1950, c.173, s.9; 1991, c.91, s.422; 1997, c.318, s.1; 2008, c.17, s.8; 2019, c.37, s.23.
This section added to the Rutgers Database: 2019-03-13 14:51:02.
Older versions of 43:21-55 (if available):
Court decisions that cite this statute: